Grant McLennan award winner Seja Vogel New York bound

General news0

seja1 by justin edwardsArts Minister Ian Walker has announced Brisbane songwriter Seja as the winner of the $25,000 Grant McLennan Memorial Fellowship at an event at the State Library of Queensland.

Mr Walker said Seja impressed the judges with her song-writing accomplishments, both as a band member and as a solo musician.

“The panel believe this opportunity will be instrumental in taking her career to the next level,” Mr Walker said.

“She has selected New York as her destination where she will build on the extensive networks she has already made in the US.”

A former member of Brisbane bands Sekiden and Regurgitator, songwriter Seja Vogel has toured internationally and is also a noted visual artist. She has recorded two albums: We have secrets but nobody cares (2010) and All our wires (2013).  She has performed her solo material as support for Australian tours of headline acts such as Goldfrapp, Sarah Blasko, Warpaint and Holly Throsby.

The Minister congratulated 2013 finalist Edward Guglielmino, whose song Mary, was awarded Song of the Fellowship by the McLennan family.

“The McLennan family felt this song captured the essence of Grant’s own song-writing and asked that it be given special recognition,” Mr Walker said.

He also thanked the judging panel – Adele Pickvance, Ian Haug and Tylea Goold.

Seja said of her win, “The Fellowship will give me the space and time to both nurture and develop my creative output and encourage me to think about my goals and future aspirations.

“It supports involvement in new and exciting creative communities offshore whilst giving me the opportunity for autonomous development,” she said.

The $25,000 Grant McLennan Memorial Fellowship, established by Arts Queensland, honours the musical legacy of Grant McLennan, who passed away in 2006.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.